Delta BusinessElite Detroit-Frankfurt

This flight was the second leg on trip from Atlanta to Amsterdam. The flight featured Delta’s lie-flat beds on the 767-400.

At first glance, the seats are pretty much the same as Swiss’. Nice and comfortable, but a little bit small and with a small TV as well.

image

I Settled into 4B and encountered a DYKWIA who insisted my carry-on needed to go in the middle instead of the aisle so that she “didn’t forget her bags”. Whatever – I guess her laptop bag needs a full overhead bin.

image
image

The FAs quickly took the dinner orders prior to departure to allow for maximum sleeping.  I chose the beef tenderloin.

image

image

image

image

I was pretty disappointed in the movie selection, which wasn’t bad, but was about as good as Air China or China Southern. I’ve found the A330s AVOD in economy to be much better. The headphones were excellent, even if they were Bose knockoffs.

To start, the FAs delivered reasonably-warm nuts and a Woodford Reserve. Service seemed to be a little bit rushed, but not too fast. No complaints here as I definitely don’t want slow service on a 8 hour trans-Atlantic flight.

image

The FAs eagerly offered a refill of my Woodford pre-meal before delivering the shrimp starter with pretzel bread. Believe it or not, the pumpkin bisque was pretty good and the starter as a whole was better than anything I’ve had on Cathay recently.  Yes, it wasn’t Chinese food, but it was pretty decent for Delta.

image

Next up was a salad – covered in cheese and topped with dressing. It was decent – on par with LH, CX and others. FAs still seemed to rushed, even at 19:30 when no one is tired…..still, I’m pretty impressed with Delta’s efforts.

image

For the main course I ordered the beef tenderloin. I expected a horrible cut of meat cooked horribly.  This meal was actually reasonable. The FAs came back with pretzel bread which was better than LHs!

image

image

The DYKWIA next to me wanted her beef “as rare as possible” but I had more reasonable expectations. I just wanted something filling and somewhat delicious. The result? A decent medium-rare. It was quite good for airplane food and certainly better than LH.  Kudos do DL for not ruining the beef.  That being said, all the other options were pretty bad so it was beef or nothing 😦

For dessert I went with the ice cream sundae – something that no American airline could mess up.  It was decent – I’m too small to put too many toppings on it…

The IFE was lacking so much that I resorted to watching British television – Top Gear. I recently started watching this show (courtesy of a car-crazed friend) and was glad to see that Delta has some of the newer episodes on demand. The ice cream was OK, but better than the pre-packaged Haagen Dags that CX offers. Brand

I then tried to sleep with about 6 hours left in the flight. Lets see how this turns out….I wonder how ‘heavenly’ Westin’s bedding will be……

image

About 4.5 hours later – somewhere over Ireland – I’m up. The beds are decent, comfortable, but small. Not recommended for those over 6 feet. I’ve slept decently well over the Atlantic and still am tired. This is why I’ll never pay for this business class or not give myself a day before meetings.

image

The staff then turned the lights on and came around with the pre-landing meal. I was pleasantly surprised by the DL staff. Sure they’re not as cute as the China Southern FAs but they really didn’t make any mistakes.

OJ to start – Minute Maid from a can, but no complaints. Well now that I’ve had a taste I don’t know what brand it is, but its not hand-squeezed.

image

Breakfast is served. Crepes with mushrooms and sausages. Kind of reminded me of a Holiday Inn Express breakfast – Not bad for a plane. Semi-fresh breads were served and I chose a croissant.

image

The egg-crepes were pretty dry and average. This is when I start to miss having a Chinese breakfast.

One hour to go and I’m up. I don’t know how I can rate the seats. I think maybe a C – with NH being the A standard. Its tough on the 767 not having the space to work with, but these seats are OK. If you’re tall or wide these seats just won’t work. I’m reasonably thin so they worked just fine.

The service gets a B+ and was probably the past part of the flight.

The IFE was somewhat small (like Swiss’) but didn’t have an amazing selection. I’ll also give it a C.

Now on to FRA and the most romantic class in the world – Air France’s affaires. Pretty sure my girlfriend wouldn’t approve of me having affairs in the air.

Leave a Reply

